View unanswered posts
View active topics
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:18 pm

kevincarey19067
Post  Post subject: My testimony  |  Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:52 pm
Nursery

The Testimony of a man named Kevin Carey
When I was in prison (for 10 years) I went thru a lot of changes. When you first get "in"
you are angry at everyone and everything. After no one came to visit me I
realized I was the problem. I swore I would never become one of those
"prison bible thumpers" that is only saved in prison, and then the minute they
walk out the door the bible goes in the trash. I did end up doing some
serious soul searching though. I studied Buddhism. I read the Koran. I went to
Catholic services, Seventh Day Advents services, Native American, and on
and on. Nothing worked, nothing felt right. So after going to the "hole", I
read the whole Bible. I had nothing else to do. I wanted more. Then one day
I found a magazine in the trash. The Magazine was called Ensign. It had a
large picture of Jesus on it, and the whole magazine was about Christ. I
fell in love with it. I loved what it said. So I went looking for members of
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I asked around and someone
told me "Yea, they are The Mormons". Finding "Mormons" in prison is not an
easy task. Then a guy told me there was a "Mormon" that worked down at the
prison library. It ended up being a guy I couldn't stand, and he couldn't
stand me. I walked up to him and he said to me in a not so ‘nice way’.
"What do you want?" I showed him the magazine and said that I wanted to
learn about it. He looked at me and said "Are you serious? You better not
be messin with me." I said “I’m serious.” and he looked at me and said "Really?” When
he saw I was serious, he changed. His face and whole body changed in an
instant. Then he smiled and said “I would love to. Come with me." He
took a copy of the Book of Mormon off the shelf and began to tell me about