View unanswered posts
View active topics
It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:27 pm

KolobKrusher
Post  Post subject: Brief Introduction or maybe the mobs were right  |  Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:27 pm
Nursery

A couple of weeks ago I sent in my letter of resignation, but my story of why I wanted to leave Mormonism is complex, and I will save that for a later post. I am happy with my decision. I feel lucky to live in the information age where knowledge flows more freely and people can educate themselves instead of accepting whatever white-washed history the "leaders" of the Mormon church shovel into our brains.

I'm glad I took the red pill and my eyes are open to the truth. More people need to unplug and understand the truth. By profession I am a Fraud Investigator so I used my experience of detecting fraud to investigate Church History. In short, I am convinced that Joseph Smith was a great con-artist. He was a very talented and creative genius who duped thousands of people to believe him. I used to think that the "angry mobs" that we learn about in Sunday school were just uneducated hicks who wanted to ruin the church because Satan had influenced them. No, I think if my sister or daughter were convinced that she should marry a guy who already had a wife, who says that he was visited by angels and could locate treasure in the earth and that he should marry my daughter or sister or else the Lord would smite him, I'd probably want to tar and feather him too. Just sayin'. Anyway, later I will post my reasons for leaving but I think this is a good enough introduction.

Rainfeather
Post  Post subject: Re: Brief Introduction or maybe the mobs were right  |  Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2016 2:33 pm

Hi. Yes, I look back now and wonder, "What was I thinking?" when I joined at 17. If someone came up with stories like this today, no one would believe them. Well, they might have a small cult following, but not a church with a couple million people in it.

Melanie